Toasted Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Whole Wheat Cookies

UPDATE!

Just added some new photos. Same recipes, same delicious taste, better pictures. hehe 😀
Homemade, soft oatmeal cookies always tempt me. However, I never make it to try one, as they are rarely sold in this country. I always love to see homemade oatmeal cookies photograph in other food blogs, and also curious about the taste. That shape inconsistency, the crumb, white dull dots of oatmeal, I almost can smell the flavor. To me, pictures don’t speak, they smell. And all the good cookies pictures always smell good to me.

Using spoon to shape the dough
Using spoon to shape the dough

Finally I decided to make one of those, and I decided to go whole. I mean 100% whole wheat flour. I was digging into food blogs and websites to find the most affordable, and easiest, recipe to follow, when I accidentally found this recipe from two peas and their pod food blogs (see here). Their called for toasted oats for their oatmeal cookies. I couldn’t be any more curious.
I never 100% follow any recipe. Not because I’m not sure, but to adjust with what I have in hand. Most of times, I have to replace this for that, and more of the times, the food turns out.. edible. This time, I did follow what the recipe said almost word by word, well, 98%. Okay, maybe 90%. But the claim was really true, toasted oats and whole wheat flour did add nicer, nuttier, flavor to the cookies. Just as I imagined as it would be every time I see all the pictures of oatmeal cookies.

Roasted oat
Roasted oat

The change of the recipe was almost unnecessary, but I did it anyway to adjust with what I had in my refrigerator that day. I used margarines instead of butter. Butter makes everything better, trust me. But living in Indonesia, butter also makes everything less.. economic. However, if you want your cookies to be perfect, use butter, unsalted. That brought me to the decision of omitting the salt in the recipe, as you know that margarine (Blue Band cookies and cake) is originally salty. I also used small egg instead of large egg according to the recipe. You might want to note this, when I used small egg for my first attempt, the cookies turned out really amazing. In the second attempt, I used large egg as the recipe called, but the egg really smell out of the cookies. The cookies were still disappear quickly from the jar, but the egg really standout.

The dough
The dough

I also noted some important cookie rookie tips. The shape of my cookies was really round and thick. It missed the beautiful cracks usually appear on oatmeal cookies, I guess I have to flatten it more before baking. The quality of chocolate chips were also rather low, so it didn’t incorporate beautifully with the cookies. I promise I will update the cookies pictures as soon as I make better batch.
Nevertheless, the cookies turned out simply amazing. And it is thousand times better eating warm, homemade oatmeal cookies, than eating that retail oatmeal cookies from convenience store. Why I never made this simple, healthier, and beyond delicious oatmeal cookies before, I’ll never know.

1-DSC00328 Sorry for uneven shapes.. but that's how homemade cookies supposed to be :p
Sorry for uneven shapes.. but that’s how homemade cookies supposed to be :p

So this is the recipe, adapted from twopeasandtheirpods website, modified to my version.

Whole Wheat Toasted Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (Rookie’s)
Yield: 18 big cookies
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 10-15 minutes

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups (about 85 g) oats.
1 1/4 cups (about 200 g) whole wheat flour. I used bogasari atta flour.
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup (about 225 g) Blue Band Cake and Cookies Margarine, at room temperature
1/2 (about 85 g) cup brown sugar
1/2 cup (about 90 g) white sugar
1 small egg.
1 teaspoon vanilla essence.
1 cup (about 100 g) chocolate chips, or to taste.

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 180 C. I used electric oven. If stand stove oven is used, without thermometer, just preheat it until relatively hot.
2. Spread the oats evenly on an ungreased baking sheet. Place in the oven for 8-9 minutes, stirring once.The oats will turn light brown and have a nutty aroma. Remove from oven and let cool.
3. In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon. Set aside.
4. Using a mixer, beat the butter and sugars together until smooth and creamy. Mix in the egg and vanilla. Slowly add the dry ingredients. Mix until just combined. Stir in the toasted oats and chocolate chips.
5. Roll cookie dough into tablespoon size balls and place on prepared cookie sheet. Bake for 10-13 minutes or until light golden brown around the edges. Let me warn you that when remove from the oven, the cookies will have a still slightly runny, beyond moist, consistency. That is really okay. Don’t put it back into the oven. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for two minutes. Transfer to a cooling rack and cool completely. It will solidify with time. Enjoy it warm with a glass of cold cappuccino!

1-DSC00315
I already ate about 4-5 cookies for tasting..
Leave a Reply

